Cover design by David Curtis and cover art by Pascal Campion.

Cover design by David Curtis and cover art by Pascal Campion.

The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City

publishes with HarperCollins Children's Books

on October 3, 2017!

In this delightful middle grade debut, a little pig in a big city leads to lots of trouble.

Josie Shilling's family is too big, their cramped city house is too small, and she feels like no one's ever on her side.

Then on Thanksgiving Day her older brother, Tom, brings home a tiny pink piglet he rescued from a farm outside the city. Her name is Hamlet. The minute Josie holds Hamlet she feels an instant connection.

But there's no room for Hamlet in the crowded Shilling household. And who ever heard of keeping a pig in the city? So it's up to Josie to find her a forever home.

This modern-day homage to Charlotte's Web is a heartwarming tale of family, belonging, and growing bigger when you've always felt small – perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Cammie McGovern.

 

 

 

 

 

Preorder from IndieBound, Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million, Powell's, HarperCollins, Target and Amazon – and at your local bookstore! You can also ask your local librarian to order a copy.

The tone and characters are reminiscent of classics... A charming tale, ideal for fans of Jeanne Birdsall’s The Penderwicks...
— School Library Journal
an appealing protagonist figuring out what’s important to her... heartwarming and satisfying.
— ALA Booklist
With echoes of Charlotte’s Web, Kendall’s sweet story of family, friendship, and growing pains should charm a broad range of readers.
— Publisher's Weekly
We fell in love with THE UNLIKELY STORY OF A PIG IN THE CITY! Jodi Kendall has written a charming book with powerful lessons about family and animal welfare. No matter how big she gets, there’s always room for Hamlet in our hearts.
— Steve Jenkins & Derek Walter, New York Times Bestselling authors of ESTHER THE WONDER PIG
Jodi Kendall’s utterly charming, heartfelt story of the unlikely bond between a girl and a pig just goes to show that sometimes it takes a little pig with a big heart to bring a family together again. Move over Wilbur, there’s a new pig in town!
— Bobbie Pyron, critically-acclaimed author of A Dog’s Way Home
Add the book to your Goodreads by clicking the image

Add the book to your Goodreads by clicking the image

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062484536
  • ISBN 10: 0062484532
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 10/03/2017
  • Trimsize: 5.5 in (w) x 8.25 in (h) x 1.09 in (d)
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: 16.99 USD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1: JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Pigs
  • BISAC2: JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
  • BISAC3: JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)

Recent Press for THE UNLIKELY STORY OF A PIG IN THE CITY:

AuthorJodiKendall_HunterdonObserverFrontPage.JPG

One-Page Book Download


NOW BOOKING 2017-2018 SCHOOL AND LIBRARY VISITS! Click here to learn more about my presentations and to schedule.