Cover design by    David Curtis    and cover art by    Pascal Campion   .

Cover design by David Curtis and cover art by Pascal Campion.

 

THE UNLIKELY STORY OF A PIG IN THE CITY

HarperCollins Children’s Books, Fall, 2017


In this delightful middle grade debut, a little pig in a big city leads to lots of trouble.

Josie Shilling's family is too big, their cramped city house is too small, and she feels like no one's ever on her side.

Then on Thanksgiving Day her older brother, Tom, brings home a tiny pink piglet he rescued from a farm outside the city. Her name is Hamlet. The minute Josie holds Hamlet she feels an instant connection.

But there's no room for Hamlet in the crowded Shilling household. And who ever heard of keeping a pig in the city? So it's up to Josie to find her a forever home.

This modern-day homage to Charlotte's Web is a heartwarming tale of family, belonging, and growing bigger when you've always felt small – perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Cammie McGovern.

Nominated for a 2019-2020 Young Hoosiers Book Award by the Indiana Library Federation!

 

Buy now from IndieBound, Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million, Powell's, HarperCollins, Target and Amazon – and at your local bookstore! You can also ask your local librarian to order a copy.

 



  Cover design by    David Curtis    and cover art by    Pascal Campion   .

Cover design by David Curtis and cover art by Pascal Campion.

DOG DAYS IN THE CITY

HarperCollins Children’s Books, Fall, 2018

DOG DAYS IN THE CITY is the sequel to THE UNLIKELY STORY OF A PIG IN THE CITY. Josie Shilling loves animals. She helps care for her family’s golden retriever, Sugar, and even used to have a pet pig named Hamlet. When her family gets too chaotic, volunteering at the local animal clinic is the one place Josie truly feels like herself.

But then a mysterious box appears on the clinic’s front steps, and Josie suddenly finds herself in charge of a litter of adorable, mischievous puppies! There’s no way her parents will let her keep them. So Josie has two weeks to find them a forever home. But finding one home for Hamlet was hard enough—and now she needs seven!

On top of that, Sugar is getting older, Josie’s family is fighting more than ever, and being twelve isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. This summer will bring unexpected changes for Josie, as she learns about growing up, letting go, and loving your pack no matter what.

On shelves NOW wherever books are sold!


Screen Shot 2017-10-24 at 1.49.20 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-02-24 at 6.52.59 AM.png
IMG_0637.jpg
AuthorJodiKendall_HunterdonObserverFrontPage.JPG